Club 109/285 – Drumchapel United

Match: Drumchapel United v Ashfield
Date: 05/03/2024
Venue: Donald Dewar Centre, Glasgow
Competition: WOS Division One (Tier 7)
Entry Fee: £7
Travel: £2.90
Miles completed today: 12
Total miles remaining: 28936

Time to get back out there and this time I’m staying local. Various commitments have halted my projects progress so it made sense to take in some local midweek football.
Despite Drumchapel being only 6 miles from my home, I can confidently say I’ve never stepped foot in it before. I haven’t deliberately avoided the Drum, I’ve just never had a reason to be there – but I do now (one of the major selling points of my project)!
I’ve always heard that Drumchapel is a rough place, and I saw nothing to sway me one way or the other on this trip but it’s certainly an identity that the locals are immensely proud of. Billy Connolly, James McAvoy, Andy Gray and Danny McGrain all grew up here and I was here to see the main event – the football team.

The Club

Five years ago I’ll admit to being unfamiliar with Drumchapel United. They were founded in 2001 but joined the WOSFL from amateur football. I knew all about the other Drumchapel amateur team however, who brought through the likes of Sir Alex Ferguson, David Moyes, Walter Smith, John Robertson and Archie Gemmell!
As I read up on the club I found their story strikingly similar to some others I’ve visited. I liken them to West Park United, Gartcairn & St Cadoc’s. All of these clubs are a huge part of the community not necessarily for the senior side, but the hundreds of kids that play in the youth academy. In Drumchapel United’s case, that number was over 500 in 2020 (most recent figures I could find). In an area that’s had it’s fair share of anti-social behaviour problems, that’s 500 kids off the street and kept busy, I can’t stress how important that is.

The Ground

The ground is a short walk from the train station but tucked just out of sight. It’s part of the larger Donald Dewar Centre that hosts many different sports with grass pitches and tonight’s venue – the astro. When visiting astro cages I always say there’s not much to it. I don’t mean it in a rude way, I think it’s fair – does exactly what it says on the tin.
The club are fairly well supported and despite the rain bucketing down, there wasn’t many spaces at the barrier left as the punters piled in.
There’s two tower blocks overhanging the ground which would be a great photo on a clear day and every 15 minutes a low flying plane will pass over before landing at Glasgow airport. These aircraft are so low that I pondered the possibility of leathering a ball at them. Is it possible? You wouldn’t be far away that’s for sure.



Preview

As the table begins to take shape – this looks like a massive game. We’re two thirds into the season and in this 16 team league I’d say 9 still have a realistic chance of winning the title! There are games in hand all over the shop but there’s a lot at stake for both clubs. If the Drum win they’ll move up to second. If Ashfield take the points they’ll be a point behind their opponents with a game in hand.
Between the two, they’ve played 37 league games and scored 103 goals so my expectations are high.

Looking through the Drumchapel team is like a who’s who of the SPFL. Firstly, there seems to be an ex-Dunfermline contingent in Ryan Scully, Andy Geggan (who didn’t play) and David Hopkirk who all represent the club. I remember big defender Martin McNiff, spotted Grant Anderson on the bench and last but not least, ex Rangers & Hearts man David Templeton. I think it’d be fair to say the club pay well?
I’m not finished there though, starting for Ashfield was lower league journeyman Bobby Barr!

The teams have only played once before back in September where Drumchapel won 5-1 away from home but Ashfield’s form has been pretty consistent since. I fancy home side, but I don’t think it’ll be as straightforward this time round.

Odds;
Drumchapel United 4/7
Draw 9/2
Ashfield 9/4

The Game

There wasn’t too much goalmouth action in the first half. Ashfield looked good without creating much and Drumchapel looked the most likely. I’m not sure this was deliberate or not but Ashfield seemed to have a very distinct pattern on moving the ball. Goalkeeper to right back, right back to right winger’s feet who played the ball first time inside to the midfielder and they played from there. Drumchapel were a bit more varied in their play and looked to play through David Templeton as much as possible (and why wouldn’t you?).
Getting into half time at 0-0 would’ve suited Ashfield but it was snatched away from them just before the break. Templeton’s deep free kick was headed home but Martin McNiff for 1-0. The delivery was exquisite with plenty of whip and pace, certainly won’t be too hard on the defence for that one.
The second half was much the same. A battle for supremacy with Drumchapel having the edge. The game would be settled by a David Templeton free kick hit low into the goalkeeper’s near side corner and these moments of quality from set pieces is what set the teams aside.
Not a classic by any means, but 3 huge points for the Drum.

Full time: Drumchapel United 2-0 Ashfield

MOTM

I have to give him it don’t I? David Templeton has still got it. It’s great he’s back out of retirement after a career full of injuries and clearly still has much to offer. He was heavily involved in most of Drumchapel’s attacks and finished the game with a goal and assist after two excellent set pieces. Quite clearly the difference between the sides.

Summary

Was it the greatest game in the world? No. Was it unnecessarily cold and wet? Yes. Almost every time I brought my phone out to try and get a picture the image was blurred due to the rain! However, looking at the context of the result it could be massive come the end of the season. Ashfield looked handy without threatening the goal too much and Drumchapel certainly edged the game – I think the result was fair.
People talk about the Championship being the best league in Scotland but in the West we have a division with 9 teams I still can’t rule out!
I will stick my neck out and say Drumchapel to win the league. Aye, easy said when it’s them I’m writing about but I believe they have the quality to get over the line and edge out the challengers.
Regardless of the title situation, I’m pretty sure we’ll be seeing Drumchapel United in the Premier League lineup next season.




2 thoughts on “Club 109/285 – Drumchapel United

Leave a comment