Club 110/285 – Albion Rovers

Match: Albion Rovers v Cumbernauld Colts
Date: 19/03/2024
Venue: Reigart Stadium, Coatbridge
Competition: Lowland League (Tier 5)
Entry Fee: £11
Travel: £3.70
Miles completed today: 32
Total miles remaining: 28904

Here’s one I should’ve ticked off years ago. Albion Rovers have been a league club for as long as anyone reading this can remember but have fallen victim of the SPFL trap door. Those that only follow league football see that as a death sentence but there’s life in the tiers beneath and in 5 years time I’d guess that the Lowland League will be the most exciting in Scotland.
In reality, the league are lucky to have a club like Albion Rovers compete with this history and prestige of this great club.
They were founded in 1882 when Albion FC & Rovers FC decided to merge. Surely they’re the only club with two suffixes in their name?
Ever since 1919 Albion Rovers have played at Cliftonhill (Reigart for sponsorship purposes) and I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never stepped foot in it. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve stepped foot in Coatbridge full stop.

Albion Rovers greatest achievement was reaching the Scottish Cup final in 1920, losing 3-2 to Kilmarnock in front of 95,000 people! In the semi’s however, Rovers knocked out Rangers… at Celtic Park!
Tommy Gemmell, Frank Beattie, Harry Hood, Andy Ritchie & Alex Ferguson’s brother have all managed the club and had one of Scottish football’s greatest ever managers, Jock Stein, here as a player. Their place in Scottish football folklore cannot be denied. The current manager is another big name – Sandy Clark, who turned out for Airdrieonians, West Ham United, Rangers & Hearts.

The one fact I found most interesting wasn’t a hard one to find, literally on their Wikipedia. How’s this for a sentence?
Albion Rovers once had the most expensive player in the world. Man City signed Jimmy Conlin from Bradford City for £1000 making him the worlds joint most expensive footballer at the time. Bradford had previously signed him from Albion Rovers. I love for these type of facts!

I’m here for a North Lanarkshire derby – the first time it’s ever been played at this ground.

Preview

Despite being fairly local, Albion Rovers and Cumbernauld Colts have only ever met once before – a 1-1 draw earlier in the season. Rovers have found the Lowland League a tough nut to crack and sit 9th in the table.
Colts have probably defied expectations and sit fourth! A Rovers win would essentially kill Colts faint chance at the title. I don’t want the dreaded 0-0, but I feel like it could be – or a narrow win either way.

Odds:
Albion Rovers 5/4
Draw 23/10
Cumbernauld Colts 17/10

In the Rovers team is Alan Reid, who is celebrating his 450th appearance for the club tonight!

The Ground

I didn’t spend a whole lot of time in the town beforehand, but I did make one observation. Coatbridge must be the most accessible place in Scotland. There are FOUR train stations within a mile of the ground!

If you’ve followed the journey for a while you’ll know I prefer the old grounds and Cliftonhill is fantastic. It’s hard to picture how the ground looks from the outside, but as you walk up the steps and you’re met with the floodlights and the terracing opposite, there’s a nice aesthetic to it. Unfortunately the terracing on the far side is no longer accessible on a match day but I’d get to sit in an old school stand – a rarity in football now. I love that all features of the stand have been painted red and yellow giving it a little character. As I sat down I tried to imagine the people who have sat in these seats all those years ago and the games they would’ve seen. Looking round, I couldn’t quite comprehend how 27,000 people crammed in here to watch Albion Rovers v Rangers in 1936.
I can also safely say that they have one of the best tasting scotch pies in Scotland. I know that’s a big claim but I’m sticking to it!
There’s a modern terracing area behind the goal that the club have had to close due to crowd trouble in the form of youngsters taking things a wee bit too far. I’d see that first hand on the night too!
Let’s be clear, this isn’t a modern football stadium lego set, but that’s what’s great about it! There’s a certain charm to the older grounds, long may it stay this way.

The Game

First things first, I want to give Cumbernauld Colts a whole lot of credit. They’re an organised side off the ball but in possession they’re a joy to watch. They move the ball quickly and with purpose and controlled much of the first half. The first real chance of the game fell to Luke McCarvel who went on a mazy from the middle of the park and was denied a certain goal by a fantastic save from Ross Connelly to keep it goalless. Colts kept the pressure on and Reg McLaren volleyed wide when 1 on 1 and probably should’ve scored. The first half ended without Albion Rovers having a shot on target (I think) and Colts will feel they should’ve been ahead.
The second half started in the same manner as a cross from the left found Connor McLaren who’s first time effort was tipped over the top from Connelly again.
Rovers were given a free kick on the edge of the box and if there’s only going to be one goal in a game it better be a good one. Barry Duncan’s powerful left footed effort went in off the post at the keepers near side – a goal worthy of winning any game.
From then one, both sides battled for supremacy and it was a nervy ending as Colts threw balls into the box throughout a sizeable chunk of injury time but Rovers defended well and held on for the win. Again, Colts will be disappointed, but you have to take your chances – Albion Rovers did just that.

Full time: Albion Rovers 1-0 Cumbernauld Colts

MOTM

This is hard. Firstly, it’s Alan Reid’s 450th game. The unwritten rule suggests it should be given to him but a player from each side caught my eye. Particularly in Scotland, you’ll find teams made up of grafters who win the physical battles first and the match second, so I always look for someone who’s a step up on the technical side. I thought Josh Tran of Rovers and Luke McCarvel of Colts were exactly that.
However, If Ross Connelly hadn’t made the two big saves at 0-0, considering how dominant Colts were at the time, I feel the game would’ve gotten away from Albion Rovers. Big moments change games, so he’s my pick this time!

Summary

Firstly, a great win for Albion Rovers. They had to be content with staying in the game for long periods of the first half, took their chance when presented and the three points that come with it. Ultimately, this is a season of consolidation and getting used to their new surroundings, but this win against a good Colts side will send the supporters home happy.
The crowd was given as 206 but it certainly looked higher and I think it’s fair to say the the club deserve the community’s support. So here’s my weekly plea – Coatbridge is commonly known as a ‘Celtic area’ and winning back fans from the Old Firm is a common issue clubs face in Scotland, but on a Tuesday night when Celtic aren’t playing, why not get along and see some live football?
Secondly, an apology. I’ll put on record that this is one of my favourite grounds in Scotland, it’s been on my doorstep for years now and I ignored it for long enough. Places like Ayr’s Somerset Park and Arbroath’s Gayfield are among my favourites as they’ve hardly changed over the years and I’ve stumbled upon another I can put in that category. I’ll leave you with some pictures for now. Tomorrow, we go again.

Leave a comment