Club 114/285 – Troon

Match: Troon v Pollok
Date: 17/04/2024
Venue: Portland Park, Troon
Competition: West of Scotland Premier League (Tier 6)
Entry Fee: £8
Travel: £6.40
Miles completed today: 64
Total miles remaining: 28328

Here’s a place I’ve wanted to visit for such a long time. Troon has always been high on my list, but that’s not how I pick my games. I’ve definitely been to Troon beach before, but other than that the place is a mystery to me. On the train from Glasgow to Ayr, you pass Portland Park and it’s finally time to experience it for myself.

Every club have some famous names that have graced their ground but the names Portland Park can boast are better than most.
The Brazil team in 1966 stayed in Troon and used the ground to train. This squad featured Garrincha, Zico, Jairzinho and the man himself – Pele. Many school kids turned up to get a glimpse of the superstar who signed autographs for them all. Although Pele is the biggest name, there’s many more who have trained/played here.

Eusebio, Kevin Keegan, Gary Lineker, Bryan Robson, Peter Shilton, The Lisbon Lions, Ian Wright & David Seaman just to name a few.

Preview

This division is absolutely mental. I’m at the point where nothing surprises me. For a time it looked as though Troon were in trouble and Pollok might win the league. However, neither of those look likely now. Pollok are one of the form teams in the league but are too far behind to win the title. Troon have been on a good run recently and any chances of being relegated have been dashed. Not impossible, but unlikely.

The teams last played at Newlandsfield in September and played out a 2-2 draw. I don’t know why, but I fancy a 3-4 Pollok win.

Odds:
Troon 11/4
Draw 21/5
Pollok 1/2

The Ground

I can’t explain, but the ground is completely different from the one you see from the train window. They have an impressive and absolutely packed clubhouse. Whilst I didn’t indulge in the food, the options and prices are decent and there’s plenty of great places to watch the game from. A covered and seated stand, a little terracing behind the goal or anywhere along the side of the pitch. All views look pretty good. I’m extremely impressed.
The pitch also looks in good condition for the time of year. The rarest part of the night was the fact it was sunny, something we haven’t seen in Scotland for about 6 months!
One of the committee guys spied us checking out the pictures of the world superstars that’d been to Troon and took some time for a chat, nice touch.
My favourite part of the ground is a small dog kennel and water bowl and encourage people to take pictures. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a dog with me and that would’ve been weird – but it’s cool and something I can’t recall seeing anywhere else.

The Game

We didn’t have to wait long for the first controversial moment of the game – 1 minute in. Pollok were denied a pretty clear penalty as the ball broke favourably and the ref chose to play advantage. The shot was saved and the players incensed. I’m not sure where I stand with this. By the letter of the law the referee probably did the right thing and would’ve been crucified if the shot had gone in and he’d pulled it back for a penalty, however Pollok would’ve rather had the opportunity from 12 yards. Although this was a game without “huge” ramifications it was a fiesty encounter. There were at least 3 or 4 tackles that you’d get sent off for in the professional game, and from both sides. Troon’s first chance came when some nice footwork from Jack Sherrie opened up some space and his strike from range was tipped over the bar by Ben Fry.
Pollok had 3 or 4 themselves which could’ve ended up in the net but to no avail. It looked like the first goal would be crucial and it was Pollok that got it right on half time. A great touch away from the defender and Stephen Docherty does what he does best with a low drive into the corner.
Pollok were dealt a massive set back when star man Adam Forde was sent off for a wild challenge in the middle of the park. In his defence, it wasn’t the only in the match of this nature, but I’ve said it a million times, I don’t see the point of flying into a tackle that way.
Troon had their tails up, but Pollok would get a second when Scott Forrester found himself unmarked at the back post. The Seasiders night would go from bad to worse with a calamitous goal they won’t want to see back. Chris Duff was on hand to fire home the third. It’s little consolation, but Troon deserved a goal for their efforts. Jamie Gallagher out wide with a pinpoint cross for Dean Fulton who’s header across the goal was just out of Ben Fry’s reach.
It’s a rather disappointing night for Troon, but Pollok were excellent in fairness.

Full time: Troon 1-3 Pollok

MOTM

Stephen Docherty – Every time I watch him he scores. His first touch for the opening goal was clever, sending the defender the wrong way before finding the corner, it was like a goal scored on a computer game, very smooth. I’m a big fan.

Summary

Definitely one of those trips where you get more than you bargained for. Looking at Troon’s setup, they’ve got a lot right and it’s a very pleasant place to watch a game of football. Once my project is complete, there are many grounds I know I’ll only see once. Portland Park will be visited time and time again – and I’m looking forward to it.



Leave a comment