Club 4/280 – East Kilbride FC

Match: East Kilbride FC v Caledonian Braves
Date: 27/7/2021
Competition: Lowland League
Entry Fee: £8
Travel: £5.10
Miles completed today: 32
Total miles remaining: 43224

East Kilbride is best known locally for it’s roundabouts (or circles if you need this translated into Dundonian). My only real disappointment I’ve found so far is that midweek games don’t give you much time to see the local area – and this was my only real observation. Still, a warm night with the threat of thunderstorms that never came. Can I really complain?

East Kilbride is the sixth most populated area in Scotland and the club were founded in 2010 in the hope that they can bring a successful senior side to the town. Many made the club favourites for the league this season and with the squad they currently have coupled with what they have already achieved it’s a realistic ambition for EK to play in the SPFL.

East Kilbride have some good players many will recognise. Chris Millar had been a staple in the St Johnstone team for many years, Chris Erskine has plenty of Premiership experience and Gregg Wylde has played in the Europa League for Rangers. These aren’t the only East Kilbride players with SPFL experience. Make no mistake – they are a right good side on paper.

East Kilbride have had a tough start to the season but performed admirably in the Premier Sports cup holding Morton & Clyde to draws, narrowly losing to Stranraer and a respectable 2-0 defeat to Kilmarnock.
They’d only played one game in the league – a 1-1 draw with Celtic B.
Caledonian Braves have had mixed fortunes so far. 2 defeats from their first 2 games followed by a 4-1 victory over the University of Stirling.
Mcbookie had set the odds at 1/6 for an East Kilbride victory & 13/2 for both a draw and a Caley Braves win.
My expectations were fully set on an home victory.


The train journey was another quick one – Glasgow Central run trains to East Kilbride frequently. K-Park is around a 35 min walk from the station. Google maps never let me down but I was seriously doubting myself when I had to walk down into the woods to find the park!

A football ground in the woods?

The Ground

I couldn’t see the ground signposted anywhere – I had a couple of ladies ask me where the ground was, so I know I wasn’t the only one a little confused. The setup is actually really nice. The club official at the gate was impressed I had downloaded the track and trace app so he didn’t have to write down my details by hand. I bought a half time draw ticket for £1 and a pie for £2.50. It’s my prerogative to only take the positives about my experiences when putting them into written format – so that’s the last time I’ll be mentioning a £2.50 pie. A small shack with EK merchandise – including this seasons kits were on sale and there was a real friendly atmosphere around the ground prior to kick off.
There are 2 stands. The main stand has a fair capacity and this was busy throughout. Another healthy crowd was in attendance!

The Game

This was my second Lowland League fixture in succession, and after the last finishing in a goalless draw I was desperate to see the ball hit the back of the net.

In the first 25 minutes it looks as though McBookie had called this one spot on. A great save from Braves’ keeper denied Joao Victoria a goal with the best chance of the first half and it seemed only a matter of time before East Kilbride took the lead. However, injuries to Victoria and Chris Erskine (who I thought pulled all the strings early on) forced EK into two early subs and the game was very even from then on.

In the second half East Kilbride took the lead through Stranraer veteran Craig Malcolm. It was a bit of a scrappy goal but a just reward for his tenaciousness and determination to close down and get to the ball before the Braves’ defence could deal with the danger.
From then on I thought East Kilbride would kick on to victory, but to Caley Braves credit they had equalised within a couple of minutes. Scott Forrester headed home a set piece to restore parity. I’m sure the home side will be disappointed with their marking but it was still an excellent header from Forrester to stoop low and direct the ball into the corner.
Neither side were content with the draw and both attacked looking for a winner but despite the bar being struck twice and some decent chances for both sides it wasn’t to be.
A real competitive match and a fair score line.

MOTM

I’ll pick a MOTM each game I attend. This isn’t the official MOTM, just who I feel was the standout player.

Craig Malcolm was given the official man of the match but for me veteran captain #8 Chris Millar stood out as the best player. It was easy to see why he’s played at a higher level as he dictated the tempo when East Kilbride had the ball and was very effective in winning it back. He was vocal throughout as he tried to motivate and encourage his teammates. A real captain’s performance indeed!

It’d be unfair if I didn’t also mention Caley Braves #3 Jamie Walker. The left back was effective defensively and going forward and was very close to finding the net twice with long range efforts.

Afterthoughts

I really like K-Park and admire East Kilbride as a club. I’m determined to get back here before long to see them play again.
They are a club that’ve done well so far with bags of room for growth and if they can get themselves into the SPFL then the sky is the limit.

I tend to use the odds as a guide to the games I attend. With this in mind you’d think that East Kilbride would be desperately disappointed not to win whilst Caley Braves would’ve revelled in the point they gained. However on reflection of the 90 minutes it was a good battle between two good teams that could’ve went either way.
I expect East Kilbride will come good – especially once they have their full strength team back. Caley Braves look a decent side too and I expect they’ll do well. I wish both clubs the best of luck.

Final score: East Kilbride 1-1 Caledonian Braves




Leave a comment