Club 3/280 – Cumbernauld Colts

Match: Cumbernauld Colts v Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic
Date: 21/7/2021
Competition: Lowland League
Entry Fee: £8
Travel: £5.80
Miles completed today: 36
Total miles remaining: 43256

When is the best time to visit ‘the coldest stadium in Scotland’? When it’s 27 degrees of course. Although still in the early stages of the groundhop, taking in a game in the Lowland League was the highest level of football I’d seen so far.

Cumbernauld Colts are not in fact Colts, they’re a senior side. Whilst I can’t find anything to back the following up – I’m guessing they played on their reputation of bringing through young players, the most notable of which is former Celtic captain Jackie McNamara.

The Journey

Another easy train journey. This time the destination is Croy – as it’s much closer to the stadium than getting the train to Cumbernauld. Who’d have known? Not me if I hadn’t checked nonleaguescotland.org trying to find out a little about the place.
It’s a twenty minute walk from the station to the stadium and when it’s as warm as it was there were no complaints here.
I arrived at the stadium a hot sweaty mess.

The Ground

Similar to my Finnart post last time out, I’ll be back here again for Clyde at some point so I’m trying to spread info on the ground over 2 posts. I was surprised to learn Cumbernauld Colts hold the main lease so really it’s their ground, right?
Anyway I’d bought my ticket online beforehand and was subject to a temperature check before being allowed in. With the sweat rolling down my face and most certainly feeling the heat I was slightly surprised to be given the all clear and I made my way into the ground.
I chose a seat, sat in the sun and let the atmosphere build in the ground whilst keeping up with the lower league scores which kicked off slightly earlier.
Broadwood is actually a nice stadium. Still fairly new, looked good and definitely fitting of League One and the Lowland League.
I was pleased to see a paper programme on offer too, although I didn’t notice these at the gate and failed to pick one up.

The Game

Looking at the odds beforehand I couldn’t believe Cumbernauld Colts were 7/1 for the victory. Not that I’d claim to be an expert, but surely that price was absolutely mental? Bonnyrigg on the other hand were 1/7. Were they THAT strong a side in comparison to the Colts?

The answer… is no.

This was as much of a 0-0 as you’ll ever see. Both teams can play good football, the technical ability was impressive but neither team could find that cutting edge and both sets of defenders made sure the keepers were well protected. The tempo was a little slower than my previous games too, but as I was knackered walking to the stadium in that heat I can only imagine how the players felt!
Bonnyrigg brought over a good support and they cheered their team on well.

MOTM

I’ll pick a MOTM each game I attend. This isn’t the official MOTM, just who I feel was the standout player.

I planned on giving the MOTM to the home side each game. That’s who I’m here to see after all. However it’d be very hard to look past Bonnyrigg’s George Hunter for the accolade this time round. He held the ball up well and worked hard giving the Colts defenders more problems than any other player caused. If anyone was going to score my money would’ve been on him.

Afterthoughts

Nobody wants a 0-0, but I don’t think the score should’ve gone any other way.
Neither team did enough to win it but played well enough that a defeat would’ve been unfair.

Again I’m seeing this from the outside looking in so I may be well off the mark, but with The Rose being such heavy favourites beforehand it looks like a good point for Cumbernauld Colts.
After seeing how strong the Colts were compared to what I expected (and the bookies) – I doubt Bonnyrigg will be too upset either.
A fair result in the end and both sides on 4 points after 2 games.

One final point. Why on earth is there a Fox on top of the stand?

Leave a comment