Club 7/280 – Camelon Juniors

Match: Camelon Juniors v Dundonald Bluebell
Date: 07/08/2021
Competition: EOSFL Premier Division
Entry Fee: £7
Travel: £12.50
Miles completed today: 56
Total miles remaining: 43096

Welcome to my first trip outside of the west. Ok it’s only as far as Camelon, but it’s still the furthest I’ve been so far.
I always though Camelon was part of Falkirk but it’s a village in it’s own right.
I didn’t have any preference over which game to attend today. I gave each game a number in the east and let Alexa pick one at random. “Number 5” she said and off to Camelon I went.
I didn’t get to see much this time round. There was heavy rain forecast and to be honest I didn’t want to get caught in it. I beat the rain if you’re interested- by about an hour in fact. I do enjoy getting to games early and watching the atmosphere build.

I expected a good standard game between two of the best the east has to offer. Both have been around a long time and play in the Premier Division.

Camelon had 3 wins from 3 in the league, Dundonald were 2 wins, a draw and 2 losses – a steady start.

I recognised a few names in the Dundonald squad. Colin Wilson had both played in the first team at Raith Rovers whilst at right back was Scott Durie, son of Gordon.

The odds were priced as

Camelon 4/9
Draw 5/1
Dundonald 11/4

The Ground

Like Kilbirnie through the week, this was another of my favourite grounds. A proper old school junior park. I keep repeating this but the pitch was in near perfect condition and although I prefer standing at games I was pleasantly surprised with a covered seating area.
Carmuirs Park is also the first ground I’ve been to that sell steak pies which I’m a big fan of. Camelon were high up in my estimations before they’ve even kicked a ball.

The Game

Both sides adopted a similar approach. A high intensity press out of possession and a long ball in behind was the preferred method of attack.
In the early stages they cancelled each other out pretty well but a long ball proved successful as Camelon took the lead with a well taken powerful half-volley into the corner.
The lead didn’t last long as Dundonald equalised before half time. There MAY and I highlight the word may be a little controversy around this goal. The initial shot came from just inside the box and the ball was deflected into the net. Camelon’s defenders claimed it’d been tapped in on the line by another player – which would mean the goal was offside. If the ball was already in then in my opinion the goal is good. I’m glad I didn’t have to make that decision! However the goal stood and we went into half time 1 each.
The second half was much the same as the first. I was confident there would be more goals, but for who? I had no idea.
Dundonald came close as a header from a corner came off the post before the rebound crashed off the bar
Camelon were down to 10 men in the 73rd minute after a second yellow for simulation. This received a very angry response from the home crowd in which the ref and linesman were getting pelters. I’m not sure if he dived or not, but it certainly wasn’t a penalty. I can understand why the referee made the decision but again I’m happy I didn’t have to make it.
An excellent glancing header from a corner gave Dundonald the lead and their long ball approach finally reaped reward as Lewis McKenzie was sent through for a third.

Then… more controversy (or so it seemed). Still incensed at the red card, the home side were raging as a Dundonald player went down easily in the box – this time the ref played on. Again, I’m not sure it’s a dive at all but I understand the Camelon cries for consistency.
If they weren’t already angry enough Dundonald then received a penalty for handball. This set the fans off even more but I’m not sure they can have any complaints about this decision.
4-1 and game over.
Camelon did pull one back via an own goal but it wasn’t enough to spark a fightback.

Full time: Camelon Juniors 2-4 Dundonald Bluebell

MOTM

I’ll pick a MOTM each game I attend. This isn’t the official MOTM, just who I feel was the standout player.

Today’s MOTM is a very easy decision. Dundonald midfielder Lewis Mckenzie walked away with a hat-trick – another first on my travels. He was excellent throughout and scored a header, penalty and a one on one showing he can handle different situations with ease.

Afterthoughts

I should reiterate how much I like this ground and for all you groundhoppers it’s definitely worth a visit. Although I didn’t see a home victory the fact they’d won 3 out of 3 beforehand shows that they’re a good side at a good level. The game could’ve went either way until the sending off and the crowd were as entertaining as the game at times.

Result wise there aren’t many positives for Camelon to take from this one. I don’t think I saw them at their best and they’ll want to move on quickly and will hopefully bounce back.
Dundonald were excellent and ultimately deserved their victory. They also brought a healthy support themselves contributing to a good atmosphere.

On a final note, today I learned that you do not pronounce the club “Camel-on” but “Caimlin”. The more you know.

Leave a comment