Club 1/280 – Benburb FC

A new season kicks off in the sun

Match: Benburb 1-0 Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
Date: 17/7/2021
Competition: WOSFL Premier Division
Entry Fee: £6
Travel: £0
Miles completed today: 4
Total miles remaining: 43308

This was my first ‘official’ ground on the road to getting round all 280 clubs and it was a local one to start.

I always try and do a little research before visiting a club but as I had planned to visit St Anthony’s this weekend before the game was postponed, I was a little short of time here.

I did however find out that Alex Ferguson used to watch Benburb often growing up – so if it’s good enough for the greatest manager of all time, it’s good enough for me!

Neither team had played competitively much in the last 18 months due to coronavirus so I’m not sure many knew what to expect.

The Journey

This was one of the easiest journey’s in the entire Pyramid. New Tinto park is only a 2 mile trip for me so I strapped the fitbit on and took a leisurely stroll on one of the warmest days of the year. After getting halfway there and turning around (I forgot a mask) I eventually made it through the cemetery and on to the ground.
I also met a fellow groundhopper at the game – who turns out to be from the same area as I grew up before moving to Glasgow.

New Tinto Park

I was a bit taken back by the friendliness and camaraderie at their social club. Perhaps this is something I’ll discover a lot of throughout my travels (I certainly hope so anyway) but seeing everyone enjoying a pint, catching up and even being able to enjoy their beverage on the touchline watching the match was a little surreal. I’m not sure why – maybe it’s because I’m used to being searched as I approach a football stadium whilst being made to feel like a criminal for cheering on your team – but this is a world apart and long may it continue.
I was also a huge fan of the trees providing the perfect amount of shade whilst I sat in the stand. This was probably more luck rather than design, but I could’ve sat there all day regardless.
Everyone I spoke to couldn’t have been nicer and I’d highly recommend a visit here.

The Match

The opponents today were Kirkintilloch Rob Roy and the odds had the visitors down as slight favourites so I was expecting a close game.
The ball was in the air… a lot! I don’t mind this at all, as every few seconds we were treated to a tackle, an aerial duel and plenty of players hitting the deck after a challenge. This doesn’t mean it was a dirty game, most of the battles were fair and there was nothing really between the sides.
Benburb scored not long before half time when Lowden scored what can only be described as a tackle (keeping up with the theme of the game).

There were a number of good performances on either side, both defences dealt with the dangers extremely well. This kept the goalmouth chances to a minimum in one of the most even games I’m likely to see.

Straight from winning Euro 2020 with Italy, Bonucci decided to come visit the country that supported him the most.



MOTM

I’ll pick a MOTM each game I attend. This isn’t the official MOTM, just who I feel was the standout player.


In this case I’ve picked Benburb #5 Ryan Docherty. Docherty got a toe or head to every ball fired at him and won the physical battle with Rob Roy’s striker. Without him in the side I feel as if the visitors would’ve gotten a little more success in their attacks – a rock at the back today.

Special mention to Bens manager Paul Lovering who kicked every ball and won every header. One of the most animated yet passionate manager’s I’m sure to come across.

Afterthoughts

In a 20 team league where 7 go down this season every point is going to be invaluable, and even though it’s only gameweek one, I feel that Benburb have picked up a massive 3 today.

One final side note – Benburb’s blue & white home kit is indeed a thing of beauty.

Final Score: Benburb 1-0 Kirkintilloch Rob Roy

New Tinto Park stand

2 thoughts on “Club 1/280 – Benburb FC

  1. Good luck in your quest.I love visiting football grounds i need to get to Annan Ath,Cove Rangers and now Kelty Hearts to complete all the stadiums in the top leagues of Scotland.I have also been to many Junior grounds but there’s so many i think it will take a lifetime.I support Glasgow Rangers and Pollok Juniors.

    Like

    • Yep! 280 at the moment not including reserve sides. I expect that’ll increase in the next few years too. Impressive haul of grounds though, I’m really excited to take in a game at Pollok. Have heard a lot of good things

      Like

Leave a comment